Inside Out (2015)

Ever wondered what goes on inside someone’s head? Well, according to Pixar’s latest, we’ve all got a control panel in there, and a staff of various emotions: Joy, Anger, Fear, Disgust, and Sadness, trying their best to steer us through life.

I really enjoyed this animation – and I don’t just mean in terms of my inner child. I found a lot to ponder here in terms of how we, even/especially as adults, try to boost certain emotions and quash others. There’s an interesting take on memory, and I was particularly struck midway by the whole idea of imagination: as a would-be story teller myself, I think I’ve spent more time knocking down houses of cards in ‘Imagination Land’ than building new fun constructs.

Which misses the point: this is a lovely movie, with plenty to think on if you want to, but overall fun and sweet with some gentle morals about family, friends, and personal identity.

Stay for the ‘credits’ scene (less than a minute in) – explains cats SO well! 😉

Released: 24th July 2015
Running time: 94 minutes
Rated: PG

My rating: 7/10

2 thoughts on “Inside Out (2015)

What do you think?

