The Scorch Trials (2015)

Well, that was disappointing.

When I saw The Maze Runner last year I was so enthralled with the story that I rushed out to read the book and its sequels. Sadly, neither (or the dreadful prequel) lived up to the promise, but even at that this film disappointed me.

Now, I’m the first to admit to having a terrible memory for books and movies (one of the reasons for the reviewing!), but very little in The Scorch Trials helped me to remember the book’s plot – not surprising, really, as the movie not only grabs a chunk from book three, but changes a few other things. Certainly, there’s a different level of technology, and of danger… dare I say, the movie misses out bits that would cost a fair bit of the CGI budget to show on screen?!

Despite veering away from the book, the film does give the sense of trying to cram in all the ‘highlights’. Alas, this made for a lot of noise and flashing lights, but – for me – little sense of real drama. Oh, we’re running away from this. And now this. And here’s another thing to run from.

And yet, between all that are moments that I really cannot understand why they were allowed in the final cut – perhaps all the headache-inducing flashing lights needed a calm counterpart, but did they have to be so dull? It really doesn’t help that the dialogue verges on dreadful (or at least repetitive).

Overall: meh. I was hoping for more.

Released: 10th September 2015
Running time: 131 minutes
Rated: 12A

My rating: 5/10

2 thoughts on “The Scorch Trials (2015)

What do you think?

