Lost Lake – Sarah Addison Allen

The wet night air bounced against the electric street lamps, giving off tiny sparks like flint.

Sarah Addison Allen’s books have become my not-really-guilty, warm-snug-blanket-and-hot-cocoa comfort reading. To say that they are not my usual genre is an understatement: me = sci-fi and dragons; SAA = cosy sort-of-chick-lit with magic and fuzzy romance. And yet I’m in love! 🙂 Every time I pick up one of this author’s books, I mete it out in tiny doses of reading, lest I finish and – as has now happened – I run out of new novels by her. Argh!

Lost Lake is probably not my favourite of SAA’s books, possibly because it follows more characters than usual, which dilutes something in the story telling. However, it’s still a lovely read – and that’s what I find so appealing about these books: they are ‘nice’ in the best possible sense. The drama comes mostly from internal conflict, and that you know things are going to work out by the end makes for a relaxing, cosy kind of read.

Okay, so probably fans of this kind of genre are shaking their heads at my naivety, but given I usually cannot stand ‘chick lit’, I’m still singing the praises here. What’s different? Hmm. Lack of cynicism? Or that touch of magic – not in your face, but just such a given part of life for the characters that inhabit SAA’s books. And, probably, that the romance just sort of happens and isn’t the whole point – the characters are seeking happiness in life, not merely chasing coupledom.

Whatever the reason these books appeal to me so much, I’m hoping there’s another one out soon!

Paperback: 296 pages / 15 chapters
First published: 2014
Read from 17th-22nd September 2015

My rating: 7/10

One thought on “Lost Lake – Sarah Addison Allen

What do you think?

